cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
PittieMomma
Dog fanatic

Need advice about my pit bulls and my profile

Hello my name is Tracy and I am new to Rover as a in home dog sitter. I have a concern that owners looking to book will pass me up just simply because they see that I have pit bulls. 
Can anyone offer me any advice on what I can do to let people know at first glance that my dogs are awesome and LOVE other dogs of all sizes and ages?? I have it written in their details but I am afraid that owners will pass by me and not even bother to read my profile.the 4.jpgMy Bubba, guest Mick and My Bailey. The little Boston was my baby but she passed away

Tags (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
VivianaR
Champ

Re: Need advice about my pit bulls and my profile

Hi PittieMomma,

Unfortunately, a lot of people are afraid of this breed, but there is always an opportunity to stand out.  As an ex-owner of a Rottweiler (she passed away 3 weeks ago after 13 years together) I heard my clients concerns during the meet and greets about my girl behavior.   I will totally recommend you to find a good citizen certification, is very easy to get, but your dog needs to show basic training commands. 

I did the certification a long time ago, when I arrived in the US, my girl was 2 years old and having that certificate opened my doors, with my landlord, I was able to rent the apartment I wanted and when I bought my house I had access for a discount in the insurance company.  Years later, when I sign up with Rover I noticed that give peace of mind to the customers, I used that as a selling point.  Also, my rottie and I went under military-style training, so the owners saw that during the meet and greet. Using common sense, potential customers saw that I could not have this business without a good friendly dog.