cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Cardenas18
Dog fanatic

House sitting and safety advice?

Hi, I am totally new to rover, but I am doing a meet and greet tomorrow for house sitting. Here's my question/concern: Rover does background checks on us and assures safety to those seeking services, BUT when I looked at the clients profile-there is no picture of any information about her. There's two pictures of the dogs, but that's it. I'm a female and see safety issues with this unless Rover does have some background  info that maybe im just over looking? Any Advice? What reassurance does Rover offer that the experience is safe for BOTH parties? 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
OCdogcare
Champ

Re: House sitting and safety advice?

My understanding is that Rover does not in any way background check a client (they only request name, address, email and credit card payment), so each sitter needs to take safety precautions.

First, prior to agreeing to a meet & greet, you may want to ask more questions, to help determine if you think it's a possible match (and worth your time doind a m&g). Before a m&g, ask a friend or family member to check in with you via phone at a pre-designated time (maybe 45 minutes after m&g start time). At the m&g, always meet in a publicly visible space, such as sidewalk or grassy area and while you get to know the dog(s) outside, continue asking your remaining questions and follow your instinct whether or not to go inside a home. M&Gs that are not a match often end outside. 

Cardenas18
Dog fanatic