cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CindyG
Champ

Newbie Sitters - Some 'Need to Knows'

So you've made the decision to give Rover a try.  I've been using Rover for 8 months, and it's been great. I thought I'd share some things I've learned so far. 

-Any time a dog comes to your home, have it potty before it comes inside...no matter if it just did before the owner brought it over.  If you don't do this, more than likely you'll be cleaning up a mess inside your house during the MnG.

-Crating and confinement.  You "can" use crates provided by owners, but if you don't want any chance of a crate escape, then buy a STURDY crate.  Dog gates will make boarding a MUCH more seamless experience.  Strong tall dog gates are a good investment and available on Amazon.

-Never rely on rooms for confinement when you are away...unless you like destroyed window treatments, sills, doorframes and doors.  

-Never leave dogs unsupervised outside, even in a fenced backyard.

-No matter how nice your own dogs are, have a means of keeping them separated from client dogs if the need arises.  Crating a client's dog for its entire stay isn't acceptable.

-Never allow a client to drop off their dog without the booking finalized.

-Never accept a potential client's offer to handle payment off Rover.

-Unless you are really, really comfortable with not having one, always insist on a Meet and Greet prior to bookings.  

-Have a list of questions for potential clients at Meet and Greets (Rover has suggested questions).  "Be the boss" of the MnG.  Speak and act with authority, don't barter your prices, and have your policies set.